California Cell Phone Law
It is a primary offense to operate a phone or text message while driving.
As of June 10, 2010, California’s cell phone law prohibits drivers 18 years and older from using a handheld wireless telephone while operating a motor vehicle unless the driver uses a hands-free device.
Drivers under 18 are prohibited from using both handheld cell phones and hands-free devices. The law went into effect in 2008.
Drivers who violate the law face a base fine of $20 for a first offense and $50 for each subsequent offense. Drivers, including drivers of emergency response vehicles, may legally use a cell phone without a hands-free device for emergency purposes.
Please check with the DMV law for any current up-to-date changes.